Lost player looking for a home

Niaymh

Hey guys & girls.

I've been playing SWTOR for a long time now on The Red Eclipse however for years in WoW I was a very active part of the RP community on Defias Brotherhood and I really miss RP. I've never tried RP'ing in SWTOR before and I wanted to give it a go but I wanted to know first what roleplaying is like in SWTOR.

If anyone has roleplayed in WoW is it similar to that?

Is the RP community on The Progenitor active?

Is it all interguild RP or will I find people out in world randomly roleplaying?

Is there plenty of RP on the Republic side?

Just some simple questions I'm wondering before I considering starting a toon here. I'll probably roll a jedi guardian or sentinel as that's what I'm used to playing and I love the story.

Some answers:

The RP community is somewhat active. Not if you compare to old NWN, but it's alive. It's sometimes hard to find them, but now and then you'll run across a gang in a cantina somewhere.

If you join an RP guild, there's plenly of RP-ing going on within the guild, but you'll be able to find random people like myself who are always looking for some RP. I try to stay in character when grouping into flashpoints and missions and usually the other players will RP with me.

I don't think there's much difference in RP between Republican and Imperial side. I'd say that the spread is larger on the Imperial side. You get more immature players who think that RP-ing the Dark Side means you need to be obnoxious in general. On the other hand you get some seriously good RP from the more mature people who are good enough to RP the Dark Side in an interesting way. (The Sovereign Order is a good example.)

Hello fellow former DBer!