Rage VS Vengeance for PvE

Before any one calls me out for being a smasher or anything like that I'm new to Jugg DPS trying to do whatever is going to provide the best mix of utility and sustained DPS to my raid. That said....

I'm an oddball; I rolled a Mara first and can do decent dps on him (~2700 on dummy in 69s) but then I decided I wanted to try a Jugg as well so I rolled one of those, intending to tank on her. Now my guild has a surplus of tanks and I find myself being asked to DPS on my Jugg but I can't seem to find any consistency. I've been basically gearing her to match the stats of the Mara (0 Crit, ~70% Surge, ~99.5% Accuracy, everything else Strength and Power). And from reading on here it seems that that is the right way to go. What I'm concerned about is that when I read about Jugg dps people talk a lot about vengeance yet I find a much larger number of Rage parses. I will admit that there are a large number of fights in both S&V and TFB that favor being able to quickly switch targets or dealing with multiple adds at once in which case it seems pretty clear that Rage would be more viable than Vengeance simply because an auto-crit, buffed Smash hits for ~8-9k on my Mara and my Jugg seems to be hitting numbers that match the gear scaling between the two.

The issue arises when I find a large number of Rage parses for fights like Kephess or Styrak where there is no benefit to having such high burst versus such low sustained. My questions boils down to this: On a dummy, Vengeance parses are wonderful and fun but which spec do you actually use if/when you raid? And if you switch can you give me an idea of for which fights?

• Replies 79
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Play whichever you prefer. Bother are viable and do very similar dps on Single Target fights.