Help me Obi-Wan, I'm a Sentinel noob!

poneez

I have always been dps, from dice and hexes to MMO's. Hard core, kick them in the face and make your tank work like hell to keep them off of you kind of dps.

I am the five night a week raider in a server's top raiding guilds in other MMO's. I'm not looking for that in SWTOR, I am tired, :D I like that I can have a buddy and molo through a lot of the content. I also like that I have not had any trouble finding other folks that need help through some of the stuff I did too. Everyone has been friendly.

After an enjoyable week of tooling through missions and story lines from Thython to Tarnis, I have come to the demoralizing conclusion I am not wrapping my head around producing reliable dps with the various abilities. I am also not getting the spec trees. All of which is making me crazy. Usually I pick things up pretty fast.

Are there parsers? Combat dummies? Builds? Boss fight burn suggestions? I am glad to read up, I am not asking anyone to tell me their "burn secrets."

I am a PvE player, PvP isn't a healthy environment for me, I spend too much time using the /headdesk command.

I am loving the game play, the graphics and the clothes.

Yeah, the clothes, half of any MMO for me is the sartorial style allowed. I AM starting to get adaptive armor and I will SO be the best-dressed hawtest Sentinel of my server once I get a healthy credit and com balance. PM me if you want to contribute to that cause :p

Edited by poneez

Hey there. Which of the 3 skill trees are you putting most of your points into? I went Watchman, though I've heard that Combat is now quite good for PVE as well. I hear that the Focus build really shines in PVP.