What I've learned as a Deception Assassin

Brat

I started playing Deception from my first point in the skill tree, at one point in time I switched to a Madness spec just to see what it was like, but switched back after a few days. Some of the things I've learned along the way that I can pass to people who want to play it but aren't sure what it's going to be like.

1. Between the levels of 30 and 40 Deception is pretty difficult. The real burst damage just isn't there with Thrash like you'd expect, and even though Maul hits pretty hard, because of the proc requirement, you have to micro manage your force (resolve) waiting for that proc and make sure you're in position.

2. IMHO the radius of Maul is HUGE and is not as bad as a lot of people seem to claim. I very rarely don't hit with it and I personally haven't been having issues with lag, so that's probably the reason why. In other words, if you have a subpar system, don't bother pre 40 with this spec.

3. Voltaic Slash is a game changer. My damage output has almost doubled since I was able to put this into my rotation. This is why I say pre 40 that Deception spec is a real challenge. Once you get VS, it seems to get a lot easier (pre level 50).

Sidenote: I'm still convinced that the range of VS is more than 4m. To me it just feels like I'm able to hit targets further away than I was with Thrash.

4. VS -> VS -> Shock (you'll be mumbling this to yourself in your sleep)

5. Force Shroud -> Blackout -> Mind Trap will save your bacon a lot and sometimes will turn the tide of a fight in your favor.

6. I personally have run out of room on both my middle bars with abilities that I use frequently (I've never played a class where I use this many abilities on a regular in PvP). I'd suggest getting a Razer Naga, it will make your MMO experience a LOT easier.