Leveling as a healer

FobManX

How viable is it leveling as Combat Medic? I'm 24 and just recently switched. I have very little healing experience, but I am enjoying it so far in PVP(at least when I can stay alive, hehe). But I only did a couple of quests in PVE and noticed my kill speed was kinda slow. Now granted I was 23 and on Tatooine so mobs were higher than me, but still.

If I do go healer, should I use M1 or Aric? I know M1 is the tank but he seems to go down rather quickly. At least with Aric I can get more DPS off, plus he's easier to gear as I can just give him handmedowns.

I used to think M1 was weak until I realized he should be tanking in close with Flameguard which you manually need to click on to get him to use right away.

The 20% armor bonus make a big difference, and he only needs to hit one target to have it affect all baddies that are attacking.

Edited by Wardgrim

At that level I used MX in his damage stance for most mobs and switched him to tank stace for bosses.

1. Make sure he's geared, his starting gear blows

2. Bind his flameguard spot to something easily reachable, use flameguard as the "attack" button to open the fight and pop it whenever you remember to and you'll be golden.

Later I used Vik in the same way, DPS mode for most, Tank for bosses. That is until I got Yuun then my healing was enough to keep him alive in all but the bossiest fights and his dps was so stellar that nothing lived long.

I leveled as heals from 10 to 50. I used M1 until I got Tano. I just spent a ton in the market to gear him out. It was a little slow to kill sometimes, but I never really died solo PvEing. My tank and dps friends though died a lot leveling up :).