Marauder/Sentinel Defensive Cooldowns: A Redux?

SenariXarn

Introduction

Hello everyone!

I'm just an armchair/amateur game designer, but after attempting a few battles on my Marauder between Carnage and Annihilation specs, I realized that the class has quite a bit of ability bloat going around. So I thought I'd share a few ideas here that people might want to look over, analyze for themselves, and come up with other solutions to the problem of ability bloat.

To preface my suggestions: I did not do extensive testing of this nor may I take into account all of the numerous boosts to certain skills that Masteries and Passives apply; but I imagine they could be all applied to the new abiltiies, within reason. I do this in an effort to have some fun with class design, not as a serious, scientifically-backed study on Marauders/Sentinels and how they'd be better off with fewer abilities; so please offer constructive criticism or use this thread as a place to lay some idea-nest-eggs yourself!

For reference's sake, I think it's a good idea to keep the class fantasies available up here near the top of the post, so here are the respective conceptualizations for each spec of Marauder/Sentinel and their primary damage-skill focuses (that I can discern):

• Annihilation/Watchman:
    Mastering the aggressive Juyo form, the Annihilation Marauder destroys enemies from within. / Provides greater skill in single-blade offense and the ability to take enemies down quickly.
    Focus: DoT/Sustained

• Carnage/Combat:
    Focuses on acrobatic Lightsaber techniques that strike quickly and lethally. / Allows the Sentinel to master the Ataru Lightsaber form to rapidly dispatch enemies.
    Focus: Rotational high damage-window/Burst

• Fury/Concentration:
    Allows the Warrior greater control of the Force and further mastery of the Shii-Cho form. / Specializes in advanced Force techniques and the Shii-Cho lightsaber form.
    Focus: AoE/Control/Mobility/Fluidity