Seeking advice for a Sentinel/Sage duo

Pekiti

My situation:

I recently returned to playing SWTOR after a year or so of absence, because my wife suddenly took an interest in playing it. This would be her second time playing an MMO, so she is *very* inexperienced. After playing (as a duo) some Imperial characters up through 20-ish level, my wife decides she wants to play a 'good guy, Jedi type'. After some discussion, she decided she wants to play a Sage (to try being a healer, and to fight at range instead of melee, which was kind of overwhelming for her during the Imperial days). I chose Sentinel, because I wanted to do damage more than I wanted to tank (she'll need someone to heal, right?). I have played both Operatives and Sorcs to 50 in the past, but I have no experience as melee/saber-wielder. While I figure I can give my wife decent advice on how to build/play her Sage, I'd like to find a guide (or get some detailed advice) on how best to build/level my Sentinel.

Unfortunately, every guide I have seen is oriented to players who are:

1) already at or near the level cap, or

2) planning on doing lots of PVP, or

3) constantly participating in 8-16 man ops/flashpoints/whatever

We are just two players and two companions (no guild, etc). We do PVE only, and we pretty much try to do *every* quest offered to us, no matter how difficult it is supposed to be (we got beat down on a Heroic 4 a couple of times before we came back and won it on the third try). We also do gathering/crafting (Artifice and Cybertech) so we can keep our gear in good shape (...and have the 'required ' blue lightsabers, because 'everyone knows only bad guys use red sabers'...). We are interested in having fun/succeeding as we level to 50, but we are definitely NOT the kind of folks who worry about being 'optimal' in damage/etc.