The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

Tanking questions

ahrimen

Im relatively new to this game and have made a few characters to test the waters. In my previous MMO I did a fair amount of tanking and had a good time at it. I wish to tank in this game but am nervous to do so since my experiences in the FPs are limited (I have only done the first 3 or so) and not in a tanking roll. I was wondering if there are any guides that give basic tanking strategies for the different FPs bosses and such? or is it more a case of "dont worry, its super easy, you'll figure it out"

I just dont want to get into a FP and be a bad tank.

Thanks

Generally there are two factors that make up whether you're a good or bad player. Obviously tanks, DPS and healers have different criteria.

But as for tanking in FPs, it is my very personal opinion that there are three types of tanks;

1. Know what a tank is, what they're supposed to be doing, and despite not having prior experience, will pick up the nuances and ins-and-outs of the flashpoint.

2. Know the flashpoint from past experience, and can gain new insight in their new role and grow and mature.

3. Don't know jack **** and are absolutely worthless, but act and behave like they actually know something we don't.

As long as you're not #3, you're fine. You occasionally get people who are either ***** or in a rush that will leave if you say it's your first time running the flashpoint. Don't pay any mind to them. Most people are happy to show you the ropes, or at the very least, will grudgingly help you because they, ultimately benefit from it.