The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

Powertech Tank PvP

Gartzen

I currently pplay Powertech - Advanced Prototype. I'm enjoying it a lot. Questing is easy, pvp amazing. But it's very difficult to find flashpoint groups as dps. So, anyone tried pvp as Shield Tech (Tank spec)? Or, has anyone tried tanking as Advanced Prototype in leveling flashpoints?

I'm putting most of my points into Shield Tech and I've been having fun with PvP. I'm fairly new to PvP and I was kicking butt to my pleasant surprise! You can stilll pack a pretty mean punch as a Shield Tech and at the same time you're harder to take down. The nice thing is you get points and medals from using guard on party members and taking some damage for them, so it's not all about damage output.

I am currently level 30 Shieldtech, now dont get me wrong, I have twenty levels to go, but I love PvPing as him. Let me give you a few reasons why:

1. Up to level 30 I gave it a A- ranked, you struggle to close gaps, but can take really good damage, at 30, or 21 points into shield tech you get Jet Charge. More on that. At 22 you get grapple, one of the most frustrating abilities the opposing team will face, you get to grab someone and pull em to you. WHether that means yanking the ballcarrier away from scoring, yanking someone into a hazard and stunning them, yanking a healer away from the group, someone trying to get away from you etc. Just awesome.

2. You can take some damage, obviously its a tank spec, guard a healer, guard a guy with low health, it is awesome ssaving a guy by dropping guard on him giving just enought ime for a healer to get there or for you to come and help kill the guy attacking him. Also, a lot of people dont realize guard is a very easy way to add a few medals to your score (i usually get 3 a game, blocking 2k damage, 5k without dying, 10k without dying) more medals = more commendations, more valor, more expereience and more cash. Thats a win in my book.