The Best View in SWTOR contest has returned! ×

Vanguard/Powertech Tank questions

DonJuansen

After leveling and gearing a Sorcerer I got a bit bored and wanted to try out a tank.

I am currently in i-level 61 gear, except for mainhand(mix 24/26) and offhand (BM supercommando).

Since I am a bit new to Vanguard/PT tanking, I have some questions for PvE and PvP. Hopefully you can help me out!

You can check my AMR here and i am 31/8/2 spec

In PvE i have succesfully tanked KP HM and EC SM and am looking forward to trying EC HM but i still have a few questions. I am not fully augmented yet, because I am unsure whether to go full END or a mix of endurance and mitgation:

1. Is my skill tree build the right one?

2. Which augmentations should I pick for my open slots? (using 6 END augments already, 8 open)

3. Is it necessary to get 2-piece or 4-piece Supercommando to tank EC HM?

4. Should i get other gear upgrades before going EC HM?

For PvP, I understand that alot of damage is tech or force damage. And there some people saying that tanks should not go for tanking gear in PvP, but should get DPS gear instead. Can I still be valuable in PuG PvP with a tank set or should i play tank in a dps set instead? Or just spec DPS for PvP because vanguard/PT tanks don't work well for it?

Thanks for the replies!

1. Is my skill tree build the right one?

It's pretty close to the most popular spec except that I would take the 3rd point in Steely Resolve and the 2nd point in Static Surge rather than the 2 points in Brutal Impact. More Aim adds to the damage of all of your abilities and free Explosive Surges after Storming is actually pretty useful for your first 10 seconds of threat generation (you can generate more threat while consuming less ammo).

2. Which augmentations should I pick for my open slots? (using 6 END augments already, 8 open)