Going with the light/dark impacts on gameplay forward?

AlexNOSAM

Hi,

I just started playing yesterday. This aspect of choosing (in quests) decisions that go with the light/dark isn't very clear to me yet. What impact does it have in the late game on my character? And what if, say, I'm playing in the Republic side and I make dark side choices (on purpose) or vice versa? I mean going all the way with one route must have benefits, even though it may be opposed to your faction's values.

Care to explain?

And by the way I wasn't sure where to post this. This forum kinda looks like what this question may belong to...

Some relics have ds/ls requirements and some weapons, though you can just take the mods out of the weapon and put them in one with no restrictions. You also get titles based on it. Honestly though, if you care about the story and stuff, don't try to max one side, just choose what suits you in every situation because there are plenty of relics with no restrictions and the ones you can use aren't a requirement in anything.

EDIT: Story-wise, it depends on your class how stuff impacts the story.

Edited by Jandi

The previous poster is correct. There are 2 aspects of DS/LS alignment, one is just mechanical, the other is story.

Game Mechanic: Certain weapons and relics require certain alignments. However, it doesn't really matter, as I've seen equivalent items for both. A vendor will have the "Virtuous Force Battler Lightsaber" (requires Light III) and the "Vile Force Battler Lightsaber" (requires Dark III). The stats are the same on both. Or, as stated, if its a moddable item you can always remove the mods and use them elsewhere, regardless of whether you meet the alignment requirements of the original item.