New to MMOs need help with Sith marauder

JacobSpurr

So as the title says, I am completely new to MMO's. I picked up the Old Republic because I played KOTA as a kid, and I am a huge star wars fan in general. So, I've made a Sith Marauder and got to level 11. However, I'm not satisfied with my character, as he seems pretty weak. Maybe I'm expecting too much at a low level, or maybe he just totally sucks. Honestly, I'm learning as I go along. I'll post a picture of what I have so far. I've already got an idea for an annihilation character, so I don't need help there. I guess I'm just wondering how I could make my character stronger, or anything really. I guess I'm pretty in the dark when it comes to this game.

Please I realize I'm a huge n00b but please, I would really appreciate any help I can get. I'm hoping the community is friendly! :D

http://www.flickr.com/photos/76789483@N07/6888183775/in/photostream/lightbox/

Edited by JacobSpurr

What gives you this "I feel weak" feeling? all classes are pretty much the same at low levels, more so at 11.

If you are having trouble killing mobs without dying, maybe you just need to update your gear (vendors if you havent gotten full drops, which should be common enough to keep you at lest on par with the planet's level, can do wonders and you dont have much to spend credits other than that and skills until 25).

If you feel weak because you don kill as fast as the lightning shooting guy next to you, then that's just normal. In almost every mmo Nuker classes (or ranged DPS if you want) such as the inquisitor, always have a higher initial (and sometime final) damage output, and at low levels their weakness (being squishy) doesnt show because mobs die too quickly at first.