Questions about PvE -vs- PvP gear and patch 1.2

Lividcalm

TL;DR below.

So after doing a little research it seems that, as the game stands now, in order to be more effective in PvP I will need a mix of PvE and PvP gear to get the stats I need to be competitive. I’ve spent the last 5 or so days doing my PvP dailies and Ilum camping to get centurion gear with a few pieces of champion gear mixed in, but feel I am not as effective as others of my class who have a mix of PvE and PvP gear.

I am an Anni Marauder, and this is not a case of L2P or not understanding my class. I am by no means an expert at my class, but I understand how it works and what roles I play in PvP. I do not expect to “faceroll” every class, nor do I expect to win every fight. But for a full set of PvP gear to actually make me less effective then I was in full PvE leveling gear?

I do realize the centurion set is the entry level Tier 1 PvP set, so I was not expecting miracles. However, before I completed the centurion set I was at 98% accuracy, 28% crit, 68% surge, but 0 Expertise. Upon completing the centurion set (and a respec) I am now at 100% accuracy, 21% crit and 61% surge. So even though I am at 499 Expertise, it does not make up what I lost in crit and surge on old gear. Basically my damage has gone down, and my survivability has only slightly increased (mostly due to improved endurance, not expertise).

So, in order for me to bolster up my stats, I am under the impression that I need to run PvE dailies to get some Columi/Rakata gear to fix my now skewed stats. Meaning that I need to invest hours of time in a part of the game I find completely uninteresting; PvE. I need to start raiding PvE instances and running the same dailies over and over to collect the Daily Comms. I am not sure how this makes sense; PvE to be more effective at PvP?