Skills Rotation for merc

Daclif

Hey everyone,

I am kind of new at this and I was wondering if any of you might have a few tips on which rotation of skills I should be using in combat? I seem to overheat a lot and I have trouble with the elites, FYI I am at level 14 right now. Also I am trying to come up with a key-binding system and would be open to suggestions.

Thanks.

You have to mix in rapid shots (your base ability) after every couple of attacks. The goal is to keep your heat under 40%. I'm not much farther than you (lvl 21) but I just mix up unload, my missle attacks and rapid shots. Once you get tracer missle, you want to try to stack that up, then use rail shot. Not sure how the other skills play out, since I haven't gotten them yet.

Around that level I used mostly (vs single target) Explosive Dart + Missile Blast + Unload + Rapid Shots to reduce heat, then again Missile Blast. Add Electro Dart if you feel you need it. Vs pack of mobs Death from Above + Sweeping blasters + Rapid shots + kill anyone who's still alive with anything you like.

Main thing is heat management. Merc reduces heat with greatest rate (5 heat/secs, if I'm not mistaken) if you have 0-40% heat, so you really don't want to have more than 40% heat. That means that Missile Blast - Missile Blast - Missile Blast - Rapid Shots - Rapid shots will give you much more heat than Missile Blast - Rapid Shots - Missile Blast - Rapid Shots - Missile Blast. Just try to keep your heat <40% and you'll be fine.

About elites - vs melee elites just run & Missile Blast, vs ranged use whatever you like. If you find it too hard to kill, try to make Mako tank for you (send her attack 1st, Ctrl+1 by default). If it's still too hard, try some space missions or other quests for 1-2 levels of xp and return again.

Arsenal spec should be spamming Tracer missiles by lvl 20, low heat cost high damage and good debuff. 2 Missiles per mob at lower levels 2+Rapid shots later on, very gear dependant mind you.