Having trouble deciding between Merc or PT

AWantedMan

So i started playing this game awhile back and played with a powertech. I took a huge break and am back into it. I wanna do a full run through from class story to KOTET using the Bounty hunter (just like the idea) and i'm wondering which class i'd have more fun with. I've already played PT once so i'm not too keen on doing so again but i don't know if merc is for me. I'm mostly looking for:

1.Instant cast abilites

2.Tankiness (survivability in general)

3. TONS OF DPS

I tested merc out and it didn't feel too hot with me. Does it get better at later levels?

Did you receive a boost token when you started playing again? If you did, use it and teleport immediately to fleet and go to the target dummys. When you're done just delete to character to get the token refunded.

Otherwise i'd say choose merc/commando, they're very popular atm compared to powertechs/vanguards who is the least played class :(

So i started playing this game awhile back and played with a powertech. I took a huge break and am back into it. I wanna do a full run through from class story to KOTET using the Bounty hunter (just like the idea) and i'm wondering which class i'd have more fun with. I've already played PT once so i'm not too keen on doing so again but i don't know if merc is for me. I'm mostly looking for:

1.Instant cast abilites

2.Tankiness (survivability in general)

3. TONS OF DPS

I tested merc out and it didn't feel too hot with me. Does it get better at later levels?

With PT getting being transformed into near pure melee class, and only being given their gap closer at 60, I'd say its a pretty annoying class to play right now.

Its survivability is also pretty low, gets some small DR boost later on, but its the class that gets burnt first in pvp arenas nowadays.