Advice on commando survival in PvE?

DVongola

Hello all,

I'm new to the commando (level 52) only and have no problem most of the time. I mow trash mobs down easily, on bosses it's usually a 2v1 with my companion so no problem at all. However once things get tough (flashpoints for example), and I go into "survival mode" I feel I can't do anything, like I'm only good as long as someone else has higher threat to tank for me. If for some reason I find myself alone, I 'm mostly sure I'm done for and can't turn the tides.

I mean if I'm ever using my offheals on myself during battle, I know it's gameover as I won't be able to heal through the damage anyways. Concussion charge (pushback) is okay but on melees they just run back 2 seconds later.

Adrenaline rush, cryo grenade and diversion I find useful but I was wondering if other people feel vulnerable on their commando as well. Maybe because I'm spoiled coming from melee classes. Should I be using a mix of offensive and defensive mods? Or at least stack up on endurance? Any tips is welcome!

Basic rule of clearing trash is weakest to strongest and since you are probably playing gunnery killing the weakest shouldn't take long (often the weakest are ranged adds on the periphery) . If you are pulling trash as a 52 mando then you are leaving youself open to getting all the threat, let someone else pull or if you HAVE to pull (because of a gf with all lowbies) make sure you have most or all of your defensives on CD (LoS the trash if need be). Also try to avoid AOE on trash unless you have a tank, the more targets you hit the more threat you will gain.

In summary don't pull, don't aoe (unless there is a tank) kill one target at a time (weakest to smallest) and survival shouldn't be an issue and NEVER stack endurance for PVE.

Edited by MuskyBoy