Best spec for pvp?

Exiled-Phoenix

'Ello, i'm a newbie sniper, currently level 30 and running marksmen to lvl and pvp.

I'm doing ok with it but i am wondering if any of the other specs are better?

Engineer seems like a steady damage with some fluff AoE but does it have enough burst?

Virulance is a build-up/release burst imo (like lethality Ops) which seems like ok to spread a lot of damage to a lot of targets but not really to put a single one down without help of others?

Some insight and advice would be nice

thx

All three have different playstyles, for some marksman is the best by far and others find it incredibly boring. Same thing can be said for every spec....of course I'm heavily biased either way because everyone knows Engineering is the one true spec for sniper pvp ;)

Engineering can have some nice burst when you need it to but don't look at it from the perspective of the marksman or virulence playstyles because that's not the way to go about it.

For unranked, all specs are strong. MM is overall a great class to fight in, Engineering not only has really nice numbers but also is very good at node denial or hitting people behind LOS. Virulence, with dotspread, could put out decent numbers, but the spreading AOE is not ground targetable and the damage output was relatively nerfed with 4.0.

For solo ranked, the standard for snipers in TOFN (in 3.0) was taking Virulence, dotting people up and kiting for days. With the survivability buff though, you can survive to line up your burst multiple times without having to take Endurance gear, so I would say MM is the go-to spec.

For group ranked, MM is outright the best option AFAIK.

Conclusion:

Unranked: MM or Engineering

Ranked: MM