Lightning vs Madness levelling

Aserzka

Hey, I'm pretty new to the game was wondering if lightning or madness is better while levelling. I'm level 41 and my lightning sorc feels like a glass canon, I usually shield both me and Khem before entering combat but theres always a few stray mobs that seem to reck my face in.

Is madness any different?

Madness heals you from your DOTS and Force in Balance. Plus if you can spec into all the increase of healing options it makes leveling easier. Not sure which companion you have, but use tank for the most part. If I remember correctly, most fights don't last that long that you need to make sure Qyzen stays alive.

Last note, use your heroic moment and unity (if you have unity have to be Light V). It helps in a bind trust me.

Well, while madness keeps you well healed and ready to go, it's mostly a single-target spec, only DF hits multiple targets. Therefore I found that it's considerably slower in levelling compared to lightning.

I've never encountered any serious issues in levelling as lightning or as hybrid in the old days. Of course you're ALWAYS bubbled as sorcerer, preferrably with healing ability on bubble.

Fighting against group of npc like following: force storm (slow + stun on weak/normal mobs), at proc chain lightning, mobs dead. Only fighting elite / strong mobs you need to use other abilities.

No other class has such good AE potential including stun and slow on hostiles, no cooldown on the AE, means you can cast it nonstop (very low mana consumation) and it procs an even stronger AE. You are normally MUCH faster clearing the path to the final destination. I still notice that I clear yavin 4 dailies a LOT faster on my sorc in lightning spec than with my operative or warrior.