Help with cross comparison for class selection, please!

Strazi

Okay, so a bunch of friends are all moving to SWTOR from World of Warcraft and I'm having a fairly difficult time figuring out which class I'll enjoy playing the most. I would try all of the classes if I wasn't so hard pressed for time being a college student and all. I play a Windwalker Monk in wow and have for about a year and a half. It is the one class that I have stuck with since I started playing it.

So my question is this: What class, if any, in SWTOR resembles the Windwalker Monk the closest in terms of play style?

I mostly arena and play at 2k+ rating in wow, so a comparison to that style of play would be most effective. I am fully aware that this is a completely different game and what I am asking may not be possible, but it still does not hurt to ask.

I have searched online for the past few days and really haven't been able to find any comparisons regarding the monk, and any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for taking the time to read/respond to this thread!

Cheers!

Edited by Strazi

Thank you for responding, this question was more directed towards those who have moved over from wow. However, to answer your question.

Windwalker Monks are a DPS spec, that is not capable of stealth. They are a highly mobile, burst melee dps class that has an energy/chi system. They use energy to build chi and use chi to deal dps. Their high mobility contributes to high survivability, as well as their utilty. It is an extremely unique class to say the least, which is why I wonder if it's possible for anything similar to be in this game.

To go into specifics would take a lot of time and work, my best suggestion would be to check out a video on the gameplay.

Thanks in advance for your time!

Edited by Strazi