The internet - making people friendlier since 1998.

IGotRawr

Hello chaps!

I've been playing MMOs for quite a while now since the early 2000s and with each year that passes, people become ruder and ruder.

Is it because they suddenly grow a manhood they have lacked their entire life to stand up to others and since they're talking to somebody who's likely halfway across the world they feel safe or just because their cyber sucess got to their heads to the point that a harmless MMO playing teenager became a self-absorbed idiot (for lack of a better word)? A curious question indeed.

In every MMO, everyday there's people spamming the general with their pathetic e-peen measurement contests and flames. I wonder when everyone will act politely towards another.

It depends on the person. Not everyone acts like a jerk on the internet. I been lucky and met some wonderful people who I consider my friends.

Of course, I have seen the vulgar and the attitudes of some others as well in general chat. Sometimes I think people act like this to get attention and unfortunately there isn't much we can do unless they say something that goes beyond what is acceptable and then we can only report them.

I tend to stay out of general chat for the most part and only speak in groups or in guild chat.

I think I was reading news (usenet) some time around 1988. Certainly the bbs boards a few years later. I dont think the "internet" friendliness has changed much since then. Just the amount of messages, boards, users and so on has multiplied.

Abandon all hope, people are what they are :)

I started posting on forums and newsgroups (remember those?) in 1996. I don't think people have really changed much, there's just MORE of them now then there were then. :)

I think the invention of comment sections on media is the most egregious of all, since unlike forums where people *generally* stick around and become somewhat recognized, it's very anonymous and that just brings out the worst in people.