From Lvl 50 to 51 Caused Massive Stat Drop?

Galsarus

Hi,

I am hoping someone will be able to explain this a little bit more to me as I'm relatively new to the tanking arena-

I have been leveling a Vanguard Tank to serve as Ops Off-tank for my guild. Using my DPS alts, I managed to get full Basic Comms set for him (using Legacy armor and weapons to smuggle them). ran some lvl50 HMFP and got incredibly lucky to get relics, BH Mk-3 shield and implants.

After reset, I went on to do the dailies and hit lvl 51. That's when I got a massive:eek:. At lvl 50, I was packing 53.54% Dmg reduction, 23% Defense chance, 45.98% Shield Absorption and 40% Shield Chance.

As soon as I hit 51, my damage reduction went down to 51.24%, defense chance at 20%, Shield Absorption at 40% and Shield Chance at 36% (I literally shouted W.T.F and woke up my kids). between 50 and 51 - The only thing that changed was my lvl and acquisition of Shoulder Cannon. Is this the normal progression? Am I correct in assuming at at this rate, at lvl 55, my (based on current gear as a baseline) Dmg reduction will be 44.34%, Defense Chance 11%, Shield absorption at 22% and Shield Chance at 16%?

2nd Part of the query -

Lvl 50 + Gear has some stats which I am at a loss to understand why I'd need them If someone could please explain, that would be fantastic.

1) Accuracy - Why do I, as a tank, need accuracy :rak_02: I thought my role was to be an annoying fly and keep the target's focus on me while the DPS burn him down. as far as I'm aware, hitting the target successfully is not as important as maintaining his focus on me, and as my rotation includes taunting, I can't imaging successful hits are a big concern of mine.