PvP & PvE question

BlakeAK

Hi guys, I'm a total MMO Newbie so i'm still very unsure on how the whole thing works. I must admit at first i bought this game just because i loved the KOTOR games and i was hoping i could play like that and just ignore the MMO aspect, lol.

Silly i know and after my first couple of group quests in a PvE server, i was hooked on the mmo aspect too. But now i hear that most of the best loot (armour, weapons, mods, etc) are to be had on PvP only, is this true? Does this mean i will have to start a fresh character on a new server to get the best stuff Or is there still great gear to be earned on PvE? Do you only get the good stuff on PvE through grouping up?

Thanks in adavance :)

You can get good gear both through PvE and PvP.

If your playing mostly solo then your easiest route will be the PvP gear. Play Warzones, Trade in Warzone commendations for better gear. It may take awhile, but it can be done. The PvP gear will always be better for PvP because of the Expertise. Get Recruit, then Battlemaster, then War Hero.

Getting the best PvE gear is a little bit more involved and you'll have to group, and probably join a guild.

Step 1 - Run dailes on Ilum, Belsavis, and Corellia. Get Daily commendations, turn them in for good mods, relics, implants, and ear pieces (solo, but will take along time).

Step 2 - Run Hard Mode Flashpoints (4 people) or Story Mode Operations (Karagga's Palace and Eternity Vault) and get Columi Gear (8 people)

Step 3 - Run Hard Mode Karagga's or Eternity Vault; or run Story mode Explosive Conflict (8 people)

However when gearing up for PvE you can use your PvP gear as a stop gap. You can probably skip step 1 if your already in Battlemaster gear, and skip step 2 if your already in War Hero gear. Running HM Flashpoints and Operations is tough with a random group of people, so I recommend a guild that will help you out with this. So try to find a good group of folks to run with, and until you do PvP.