Resubbers vs Bioware (A contract law look at the reaction to the Ranked WZ delay)

needalight

I want to begin by stating I have been subbed since launch and will remain subbed. Therefore I am not a member of the party of resubbers who signed up for ranked WZ.

I'm currently taking business law which focus' on contract law. That said I am not a lawyer, I am an engineering student with a minor in business. None the less what I know about contract law still pertains. When two parties exchange a promise for a promise this is called a contract. In the situation of swtor, the party of BW promises play time on their game if you promise to pay a monthly subscription. Thus, we are dealing with a contract law case. To further develop my post here are some rules that embody contract law.

First of all, the main reason people exercise contract law in court is when one party intends to unbind itself from the contract or when one party intends to receive the full obligation from the obligor. In this situation we are dealing with the case that one party wants to unbind itself from the contract.

So how does one party unbind itself? Many ways, but in this situation we will look at the theory of deception and what constitutes deception. The two major components of deception are fraud and negligent misrepresentation.