Help Understanding Crew Skills

StimBoredom

I am a relative noob to MMORPG (other than DCUO) and am having some trouble understanding how the crew skills work.

I am (at time of writing) a lvl 17 Jedi Shadow. I chose Synthweaving, Gathering and Diplomacy as my skills. However, whenever I go to a skills trainer, they never have anything to train...and I'm not sure if I am going to the right places.

I just completed my main story arc (saving my Master) and received my ship, therefore I have mostly spent time on Courassant.

Will crew skills become clearer or "unlocked" later in the game? If I right click on my companion, so far there is only "dismiss" and "sell junk."

Also, any tips or advice about reverse engineering would be great. Every time I select RE, all of my items gray out. Not sure how I am supposed to use this function.

Thanks so much for any help that can be provided, the community has been awesome in helping newbies to the game!

Dont have time to write a report but the jist is click the diamond crafting icon at top.

Click a skill next to your companions name and pick a mission and hit send to gain xp. While questing grab nodes you see on your mini map. They look like a star. For your crafting skill, like before click it next to your companions name and click a schematic and make someting. Once you made something you will be able to reverse engineer it.

1. Read the Crew skill guide sticky at the top

2. Gathering isn't a crew skill, it's a category of crew skill.

3. The 2 mat getting crew skills that go with synthweaving are Archaology (which is a gathering skill) and Underworld Trading (which is a mission skill).

4. By and large you can only Reverse Engineer crafted items. Primary reason to Reverse Engineer is to learn improved schematics for the item you are reverse engineering. Getting mats back is a secondary benefit.

5. Only "crafting" crew skills (such as synthweaving) have new schematics you can buy from the crewskill trainers.